My camera is my security blanket

Image

My camera is with me 90% of the time. If it is not with me, it is planned.  In the past 4 years I have never left my camera at work.  Ever.  Last night I did.  I will have to admit I am a bit distracted.  Something happened to me in the last three weeks.  Maybe a few things happened.  One in particular has me distracted.  Nothing distracts me from the photography/art.  And then something did.

As a result of this, I left my camera at work.  I still did not have my photo of the day.  I did not go back to work for it.  I left my security blanket behind and it was ok.  The world did not end.  I did not suffer and the POD did not suffer.  I got my picture with my phone!  I had this idea for this picture but needed a rainy day to get the lights like I wanted them. My cell phone worked well.  It might not be perfect but then I think the perfection is that I had an unplanned moment without my camera and I did not panic.  It really is my security blanket.  It was nice to be able to walk away from it.

Truthfully the biggest deal here is that something can distract me to that degree.  Sometimes I feel like a robot on auto pilot.  Like a Dalek “exterminate” except for me its “create”.  It was a rewarding and happy day.

2 thoughts on “My camera is my security blanket

Leave a Reply

