Iron Maiden to Faith No More … Sounds grim or does it

Image

I learned all I know about fear from Iron Maiden.  I used to want to run to the hill, run for my life at the unknown. Now I would rather run right into the unknown.  I no longer feel my neck skin crawl.  In fact I wonder if I had never listened to Iron Maiden would I have felt fear the way I used to.  If you ever actually read some of the lyrics …. Well they are creepy.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love Iron Maiden.  The time for that fear is gone. 

Now as I walk off the pier into the fog I do so with a sense of adventure.  If I did not go into that scary area there is a bunch of pictures that would never have been taken.  It is kind of like when my dad literally hung over a waterfall to get the shot.  Nothing was stopping him.  Not a thing. 

If for example I had not worked on fear as a topic I doubt that I would have been able to stand in an arena with a stallion racing right towards me.  I would have flinched.  I would have moved.  When you have a stallion speeding at you … moving is bad.  It is really bad.  You just have to have faith.

Before I let go of fear todays picture would have been about fear.  Now it’s about jumping in head first. And therein lies how I get to Faith No More.  

It’s So Cool, it’s so hip, it’s alright
It’s so groovy, it’s outta sight
You can touch it, smell it, taste it so sweet
But it makes no difference
Cuz it knocks you off your feet.
~Faith No More, Epic

Is this not a far better way to view things?

Leave a Reply

