Frustration!

Image

What I wanted was not so hard.  I wanted a night time skyline, not dusk, not dawn, night time.  I had adjusted my camera the other day.  I added back in the noise reduction.   I did this for a particular reason for the day I was shooting.  Of course I broke my golden rule of setting the camera back to the settings that work 90% of the time.

So here I am under a bridge along Lake Michigan.  Trying to figure out why my camera is not behaving the way I want it to.  It is bitter cold.  Cold has been the trend of my week.  Between embracing the winter and having furnace problems which resulted in being cold I can say cold is the theme of the week. I have to admit I got beyond frustrated and threw a camera tantrum and just did another long exposure shaking my camera all about.

While I think it is safe to say cameras should not do the Hokey Pokey.  I should not be frustrated like that.  It was a bit childish.  I am better than that.  It happened. I had a rough spot.  I got frustrated.  Here is the thing, the picture turned out cool!  I liked it.  The reality is that I was looking for just these colors to overlay onto another picture.  In fact I was frustrated that I was not sure how to go about doing the picture with these exact colors.  Then, as if by magic the dominoes fall and there it is.

Sometimes frustration happens.  It can work out.  You can create even when frustrated.  It goes back to my thoughts on no limits and no pre-conceived notions.  Frustration does not equal failure.

Leave a Reply

