Steampunk!

Image

Steampunk _ Straight from Urban DictionarySteampunk is a subgenre of speculative fiction, usually set in an anachronistic Victorian or quasi-Victorian alternate history setting. It could be described by the slogan “What the past would look like if the future had happened sooner.” It includes fiction with science fiction, fantasy or horror themes.

Steampunk visually strikes me as amazing.  In its own way I find it to be soothing.  The idea comes from a simpler time.  The gadgets and such come from a more complicated time. I love how we can de-modernize some things in the steampunk fashion to make them appear more quaint and simple.

This picture comes from a steampunk themed train set at a local park.  It’s these little details that were added that made the larger theme work so well.  I have a couple of thought that came out of this.

First I worry that steampunk is on the verge of being overdone.   I worry about this because I would hate to see it travel the path of so many other genres that ended blandly after being overdone.  When it is as mainstream as the public parks I am thrilled because I love the look and feel.  However we are one step closer to it becoming less popular, maybe.

Lastly, I love the details that go into steampunk.  The little details always make my imagination go wild. This is true for me in every aspect of my life.  I am thrilled by the little things.  In people, places and events I really think that the little things add so very much. You never know where those little things are going to take my brain.

Leave a Reply

